Thursday, 19 January 2017


The International Economic Association (IEA) is happy to announce that the first Stiglitz Essay Prize (SEP) in honor of the past President of the association, Joseph E. Stiglitz was awarded to Nuno Palma (LSE). The second and third prizewere awarded to Krisztina Timko (University of Helsinki) and Federico Rossi (LSE) respectively.  In addition to the prizes listed here, the judges were impressed by the quality of some of the entries for those who have not yet graduated and hence decided to give additional prizes in this category. In the undergraduate category the first prize was awarded to Shrinidhi Prakash, the second prize to Phalguni Guliani and the third prize to Emir Omeragic.  The prize will be awarded in a ceremony at the next IEA World Congress to be held in Mexico on June 19-23, 2017.
The IEA congratulates Nuno, Krisztina, Federico, Shrinidhi, Phalguni and Emir on their achievement and hopes this is just the beginning and many such awards will follow you.
This prize is possible thanks to the generous donation that the Economic Society of Australia pledged to the IEA.